Soc.Culture.Jewish Newsgroups
Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

[SCJ FAQ Logo]
< Q3.10 TOC Q3.12 >

Question 3.11:
What are the Orders of the Mishna?


The orders of the Mishna are as follows:

  1. First Order: Zeraim (Seeds). 11 tractates. This order deals with agricultural laws and prayers

  2. Second Order: Mo'ed (Festival Days). 12 tractates. This order pertains to the laws of the Sabbath and the Festivals.

  3. Third Order: Nashim (Women). 7 tractates. This order concerns marriage and divorce.

  4. Fourth Order: Neziqin (Damages). 10 tractates. This order deals with civil and criminal law.

  5. Fifth Order: Qodashim (Holy Things). 11 tractates. This order involves sacrificial rites, the Temple, and the dietary laws.

  6. Sixth order: Toharot (Purity). 12 tractates. This order pertains to ritual and the laws of ritual purity (including family purity.)

The FAQ is a collection of documents that is an attempt to answer questions that are continually asked on the soc.culture.jewish family of newsgroups. It was written by cooperating laypeople from the various Judaic movements. You should not make any assumption as to accuracy and/or authoritativeness of the answers provided herein. In all cases, it is always best to consult a competent authority--your local rabbi is a good place to start.

[Got Questions?]Hopefully, the FAQ will provide the answer to your questions. If it doesn't, please drop Email to The FAQ maintainer will endeavor to direct your query to an appropriate individual that can answer it. If you would like to be part of the group to which the maintainer directs questions, please drop a note to the FAQ maintainer at

[Prev ?]
[Sect Index]
[Next ?]
[Prev Sect]
[Global Index]
[Next Sect]
  [Reading Lists]  

© (c) 1993-2002 Daniel P. Faigin <>